cwc logo

Write a comment


National finalists, awardees conferred with 2017 Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities
By Celaine Cabrera, Information Officer II


President Rodrigo Roa Duterte, Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) Chairperson and Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Secretary Rolando Joselito D. Bautista and CWC Secretariat Executive Director Mary Mitzi “Mitch” Cajayon – Uy awarded top-performing local government units (LGUs) as winners of the 2017 Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities (PACFMC) on December 05, 2018 at the Heroes Hall, Malacaῆan Palace.

The Presidential Award is conferred to deserving LGUs in recognition of their vital role in promoting children’s rights to survival, development, protection and participation as well as in ensuring child-friendly governance.

It is an annual undertaking of the CWC pursuant to Executive Order No. 184 entitled “Establishing the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities” issued on December 13, 1999.

Building upon the results of the Seal of Child Friendly Municipalities and Cities (SCFLG), each region nominated their top LGUs per category. A total of 61 LGUs qualified as regional winners. Out of these, twenty were shortlisted as national finalists and were subjected to validation visit by the members of the National Awards Committee.


 National Awardees of the 2017 PACFMC’s were Municipality of Salay, Misamis Oriental of Region X (4th to 6th Class Municipality), Municipality of Santa Fe, Nueva Vizcaya of Region II (1st-3rd Class Municipality), Tagaytay City, Cavite of CALABARZON Region (Component City), Dagupan City of Region I (Independent Component City), and the City of Mandaluyong of the National Capital Region (Highly Urbanized City).









   Photo caption: CWC Secretariat Executive Director Cajayon – Uy provides the
                                     overview of the PACFMC.



 Pic 2017 PACMFC 2Photo caption: President Duterte notes the current challenges that Filipino children are facing and reaffirmed the government’s efforts to protect them in his message.


“As our children are the country’s future, be assured that this administration will do everything to protect them from violence, abuse, criminality, illegal drugs, and other threats to their safety and well-being,” the country’s Chief Executive said.









 Photo Caption: (Left) Municipality of Santa Fe, Nueva Vizcaya | (Right) Tagatay City, Cavite

 PACFMC Collage2

  Photo Caption: (Left) Dagupan City, Region l | (Right) City of Mandaluyong, NCR


 Photo Caption: Municipality of Salay, Misamis Oriental


The Awarding Ceremony also recognized the multi-disciplinary team on the Scully Conviction awarded by the DSWD, CWC, Department of Justice, Philippine National Police, Department of Interior and Local Government. The said team was responsible for the conviction of Australian pedophile Peter Gerard Scully and his Filipino live-in partner Carme Ann Alvarez with a life sentence for six counts of qualified trafficking in persons and rape by sexual assault of two minors.


Pic 2017 PACFMC 9

Photo Caption (L-R):
DOJ Assistant Secretary Cheryl Daytec-Yangot, PNP Director General Oscar Albayalde,
DSWD Secretary Joselito Rolando Bautista, DILG Secretary Eduardo Aῆo and
CWC Secretariat Executive Director Mitch Cajayon-Uy
awarding the members of the multi-disciplinary team
on the Scully Conviction. 


Pic 2017 PACFMC 10

Photo caption:
The Municipality of Catigbian, Bohol (Region VII) receives their plaque from
CWC Secretariat Executive Director Cajayon – Uy,
DSWD Secretary Rolando Bautista and DILG Secretary Eduardo Año,
as one of the finalists in the 2017 PACFMC



Other LGU national finalists per category were:

4th to 6th Class Municipality

  • Municipality of Anahawan, Southern Leyte (Region VIII)
  • Municipality of Catigbian, Bohol (Region VII)
  • Municipality of Ivana, Batanes (Region II)

1st to 3rd Class Municipality

  • Municipality Kapatagan, Lanao del Norte (Region X)
  • Municipality of Lambunao, Iloilo (Region VI)
  • Municipality of Pinamalayan, Oriental Mindoro (Region MIMAROPA)

Component City

  • Dipolog City, Zamboanga del Norte (Region IX)
  • Escalante City, Negros Occidental (Region VI)
  • Urdaneta City, Pangasinan (Region I)

Independent Component City

  • Cotabato City, Region XII
  • Naga City, Region V
  • Ormoc City, Region VIII

Highly Urbanized City

  • City of Baguio, Cordillera Administrative Region
  • City of Cebu, Region VII
  • City of Iloilo, Region VI





Public Affairs and Information Office
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Telephone No.: 781-1039 local 1005/ 1006


Say something here...
Log in with ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.