Philippines Child-Friendly Cities 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Written by LID   
Thursday, 16 July 2015 10:01



Top (left to right): National Awardees Davao City, Santiago City, and Tagaytay City receiving the trophy and cash prize

Middle: CWC Chairperson Sec. Dinky J. Soliman, DOJ Secretary Leila de Lima, DILG Undersecretary Austere A. Panadero, and CWC Executive Director Patricia B. Luna delivering their messages to the winning LGUs

Bottom: The Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) Secretariat

headed by Executive Director Patricia B. Luna  with

DILG Undersecretary Austere A. Panadero and DOH Undersecretary Vicente Y. Belizario

Three local government units aced the efforts toward a child-friendly society in 2014. The coveted Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Cities and Municipalities (PACFMC) was conferred to Davao City for the Highly Urbanized City Category, Tagaytay City for the Component City Category and Santiago City for the Independent Component City Category. Each awardee received a presidential trophy and a cash prize of P500,000.00. DSWD Secretary Corazon Juliano-Soliman, Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, DILG Undersecretary Austere A.Panadero, DOH Undersecretary Vicente Y.Belizario and CWC Executive Director Patricia B. Luna presented the awards to winning LGUs at the Philippine International Convention Center on May 8, 2015.

The Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities has five categories, but no LGU qualified to become a National Awardee for the 1st to 3rd Class Municipality Category and 4th to 6th Class Municipality Category. The PACFMC Guidelines state that a National Awardee has to receive a score of at least 85%.

President Benigno S. Aquino III, in his written message, congratulated the awardees and the finalists, expressing optimism for a Philippines as a home to healthy, productive, and active young citizens. “The Filipino Youth are our country’s strongest allies in sowing the far-reaching, lasting positive change. They are the future builders of society, drivers of economy, and stewards of peace and prosperity. This  is why our government remains hard at work in pursuing reforms that promote their development and provide greater opportunities for them to lead dignified, meaningful lives”, he said.

The Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities has been an annual undertaking initiated by the Council for the Welfare of Children since 1999, pursuant to Executive Order No. 184. It seeks to encourage local government units to take part in the sustained promotion of children’s rights to survival, development, protection and participation, while ensuring child-friendly governance in the country.


The National Award Committee (NAC), composed of both government and non-government organizations, does the review, field validation and deliberation to come up with the national finalists and Presidential Awardees for the different categories for approval of the CWC Board.


Last Updated on Thursday, 16 July 2015 12:22