cwc logo


The Convention on the Rights of the Child (CRC) was adopted by the United Nations General Assembly on November 20, 1989 highlighting the rights of children on survival, development, protection and participation in governance. As a signatory to the CRC, the Philippines is obliged to implement its principles and provisions as CRC forms part of the law of the land.

In support for CRC, the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities was conceptualized with the goal of encouraging local government units to be “child-friendly”.

The Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities was initiated by the Council for the Welfare of Children pursuant to Executive Order No. 184 entitled “Establishing the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities” issued on December 13, 1999. The Presidential Award is conferred to deserving local government units in recognition of their vital role in the sustained promotion of children’s rights to survival, development, protection and participation as well as in ensuring child-friendly governance.



Encourage local government units (LGU) at all levels to prioritize and address issues/concerns affecting the full realization of the rights of children;
Monitor, evaluate and document the implementation of programs, projects and services particularly those directly benefiting children;
Strengthen local partnerships; and
Give national recognition to cities and municipalities that have been considered and confirmed as “child-friendly”.



The Presidential Award is open to all cities and municipalities. There will be five (5) categories for the Presidential Award:

1st - 3rd class municipalities
4th - 6th class municipalities
Component Cities
Independent Component Cities
Highly Urbanized Cities
CWC manages the over-all conduct of the Presidential Award from advocacy, resource mobilization, screening, validation to the selection of awardees in coordination and collaboration with CWC partner government agencies (DSWD, DOH, DepEd, DILG, DOLE and NNC, NEDA, PIA) and select Non- Government Organizations (NGO).

To date a total of 38 LGUs have been awarded where 6 LGUs were conferred with Hall of Fame award (Vigan City, Naga City, Tuguegarao City, New Lucena, Iloilo, Dumingag, Zamboanga del Sur, and Alicia, Isabela). Local governments in the Hall of Fame have consistently increasing final scores for three (3) consecutive years.

Click here to download the latest entry form



Current Status

For the year, thirty – three (33) Local Government Units (LGUs) emerged as regional winners from a total of 61 entries endorsed by the different RAC to CWC. The NAC desk review and evaluation came-up with a shortlist of 21 LGUs (9 Municipalities and 12 Cities) from the 33 regional winners. NAC validation started in September to end in October 2012. Below is the list of regional winners and shortlisted LGUs. 

Twelve (12) agencies composed of eight National Agencies (DSWD, DILG, NEDA, PIA, DOLE, DepEd, DOH and NNC) and four Non-Government Organizations (ERDA Foundation, NCSD, Plan International and Children International) were mobilized. CWC was also able to generate funds amounting to Php 850,000.00 from ECCD, NNC and DOH in support of the activity.