cwc logo


Council for the Welfare of Children

The Council for the Welfare of Children is the focal inter-agency body of the Philippine Government for children. It is mandated to coordinate the implementation and enforcement of all laws; formulate, monitor and evaluate policies, programs and measures for children. Providing dynamic leadership in ensuring a child-friendly and child-sensitive society where every child fully enjoys his/her rights.

Latest News

Article Source: Mr. Elino L Bardillon Public Affairs Information Office
Contact Details: Telephone No. 7811039 local 1006
Write a comment

2014 Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities

Now in its 12th year of National Awarding, the Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities will be conducted on 08 May 2015 at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City.

The Presidential Award for Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities was initiated by the Council for the Welfare of Children pursuant to Executive Order No. 184 entitled “Establishing the Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities” issued on December 13, 1999. The Presidential Award is conferred to deserving local government units in recognition of their vital role in the sustained promotion of children’s rights to survival, development, protection and participation as well as in ensuring child-friendly governance.

Outstanding Municipalities and Cities per category shall be awarded and be receiving the Presidential Trophy and Php 500,000.00 each. The 21 finalists are as follows: 1st to 3rd Cass Municipal Category: Hon. Benedict Calderon (Roxas, Isabela), Hon. Antonio Ogatis Bendita (Surallah, South Cotabato), Hon. Ma. Minda Liban Fontanilla (Bacnotan, La Union), Hon. Fernando Quizon Llamas (Mauban, Quezon), Hon. Vicente Sorupia, Jr. (Aleosan, North Cotabato), 4th to 6th Class Municipal Category: Hon. Leovino Hidalgao (Balete, Batangas), Hon. William Agsunod (Mahatao, Batanes), Hon. Lairvee Garvida Espiritu (Dumalneg, Ilocos Norte), Hon. Johnwell Tiggangay (Tanudan, Ifugao), Component City Category: Hon. Agnes Tolentino (Tagaytay City), Hon. Josemarie Diaz (Ilagan City), Hon. Evelyn Uy (Dipolog City, Hon. Adrianne Mae Cuevas (Palayan City), Highly Urbanized City Category: Hon. Ma. Belen Eusebio (Pasig City), Hon. Monico Puentevella (Bacolod City), Hon. Lucilo Bayron (Puerto Princesa City), Hon. Rodrigo Duterte (Davao City), Hon. Oscar Moreno (Cagayan de Oro City), and Independent Component City Category: Hon. Joseph Tan (Santiago City), Hon. Belen Fernandez (Dagupan City) and Hon. Japal Guiani (Cotabato City).

The milestone event will be attended by Honorable Secretaries Corazon Juliano - Soliman of DSWD, Mar A. Roxas of DILG (TBC), Leila M. De Lima of DOJ, Bro. Armin A. Luistro (TBC); Undersecretary Vicente Y. Belizario, Jr. of DOH, and CWC OIC-Executive Director Patricia Luna together with expected 500 delegates from 21 LGUs who are regional winners themselves, other officials from Government Agencies, Non-Government Organizations, Regional Sub-Committees for the Welfare of Children (RSCWC), other guests, VIPs and children.

In CWC’s effort to advocate and promote child-friendly governance, 42 local government units (LGUs) from 1999-2013 were awarded as outstanding municipalities and cities.

The Presidential Award for the Child-Friendly Municipalities and Cities was conceptualized with the goal of encouraging local government units to be “child-friendly”. Child-friendly governance demonstrate that LGU’s policies (through ordinance), programs and interventions are implemented which resulted to lower infant and maternal deaths, awareness on teen-age pregnancy, increase participation and lesser drop-outs in schools, protective services for child abuse, exploitation and discrimination, among others.

Say something here...
Log in with ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.