cwc logo


Council for the Welfare of Children

The Council for the Welfare of Children is the focal inter-agency body of the Philippine Government for children. It is mandated to coordinate the implementation and enforcement of all laws; formulate, monitor and evaluate policies, programs and measures for children. Providing dynamic leadership in ensuring a child-friendly and child-sensitive society where every child fully enjoys his/her rights.

Latest News

Write a comment

CWC: Parents don’t make fun of our children!

“Children requires guidance and sympathy far more than instructions” – Anne Sullivan

OIC-Executive Director Patricia Luna of the Council for the Welfare of Children (CWC) expressed grave concern over the pictures of a toddler put on a leash and treated like a dog that got viral on facebook.

CWC is the government’s inter-agency body which is mandated to formulate policies and plans for children’s well-being and monitor the implementation and enforcement of laws to protect and promote children’s rights.

Incident report indicated that the 3 pictures of the toddler were posted in the mothers facebook account last 25 May 2015. The report indicated that the mother is just making fun of her child which she posted on her facebook to get attention.

Government intervention has already step-in where the child was rescued by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Region 3 and now undergoing medical examination. The mother, on the other hand is facing possible case of Child Abuse under Republic Act 7610 (Special Protection Against Children).

To our barangay officials and Barangay Council for the Protection of Children (BCPC) to be aggressive in their information drive on the prevention of child abuse as mandated under Presidential Decree 603 (Child and Youth Welfare Code), RA 7610 and series of DILG Memorandum Circular on the tasks/functions of Local Council for the Protection of Children and BCPC. Likewise, they (barangay officials and BCPC) should be vigilant in monitoring possible child abuse and neglect happening in their barangays and enjoin immediate reporting of such incident to proper authorities.

To all the parents – we should not make fun of our children! They are our little angels: they need our sensitivity, guidance and care. Let us protect our children it is their rights and our responsibility!

Mr. Elino L Bardillon
Public Affairs Information Office
Council for the Welfare of Children
Telephone No. 7811039 local 1005

Say something here...
Log in with ( Sign Up ? )
or post as a guest
Loading comment... The comment will be refreshed after 00:00.

Be the first to comment.